Memorial gathering: Roberto Camagni in ERSA Congress – Alicante

Memorial gathering: Roberto Camagni in ERSA Congress – Alicante

Dear colleagues and friends,

It is with deep sadness that we mourn the loss of our esteemed colleague and dear friend, Roberto Camagni. In remembrance of him, we have organized a memorial gathering that will take place at the ERSA conference in Alicante on Wednesday, August 30, 2023, towards the end of the afternoon. The memorial meeting is scheduled to last from 18:00 to approximately 19:15 (local time).

We cordially invite you to attend this memorial gathering (physical or online). If you wish to join us and, if desired, give a short speech in honor of Roberto, please send an email to Caroline Crevels (, with a copy to Karima Kourtit ( / We will then make the necessary arrangements for this farewell event dedicated to our dear friend and colleague. Additionally, we plan to compile an informal booklet that will capture personal thoughts and memories of Roberto Camagni. We invite all the speakers participating in the memorial session to contribute their reflections in a concise form, limited to one page. It would be great to include a photograph, picture, or any other meaningful text that you would like to accompany your contribution. This memorial booklet will be presented to Roberto’s family, after our gathering. Kindly submit your one-page contribution to Caroline Crevels ( with a copy to Karima Kourtit ( /, with Karima Kourtit in c.c.. We also extend the latter invitation for colleagues who may not be delivering a speech on site, but still wish to express their thoughts to send in a concise memorial contribution. The same invitation is extended to Roberto’s friends and colleagues from all corners of the world. The deadline for submitting your contribution is July 30, 2023. We will keep you informed of any further details regarding the memorial gathering for Roberto. For now, we express our deepest gratitude for your support and participation. With warm regards, Cordially yours,

Roberta Capello Peter Nijkamp Karima Kourtit Peter Batey