2023 ERSA Prize in Regional Science: Winner Unveiled

2023 ERSA Prize in Regional Science: Winner Unveiled

27 July 2023

Professor Attila Varga

is awarded the

ERSA European Prize in Regional Science 2023

The ERSA and the Jury of the ERSA Prize Committee are pleased to announce that this year’s prize recognizes Attila Varga (Professor of Applied Economics, University of Pecs, Hungary) for his outstanding contribution in regional science.

His scientific production counts important contributions published in renowned academic journals including a seminal contribution on on “Local geographic spillovers between university research and high technology innovations” (jointly with L. Anselin and Z. Acs) published in Journal of Urban Economics (1997).

Attila’s recent publications include: “Economic impact modeling of smart specialization policy: Which industries should prioritization target?” (with N. Szabó and T. Sebestyén) published in Papers in Regional Science (2020); “Estimating the economic impacts of knowledge network and entrepreneurship development in smart specialization policy”. (with T. Sebestyén, N. Szabó, and L. Szerb) in Regional Studies (2020); and “Knowledge networks in regional development: an agent-based model and its application”. (with T. Sebestyén) in Regional Studies (2020).

As for editorial positions, Attila has been member of the editorial board of REGION (ERSA Journal) since 2013 and Regional Statistics since 2012. He was also editor of Regional Studies (2007- 2013).


Among recent prestigious recognitions, Attila recieved the ‘Teacher of the Year Award, MSc Enterprise Development and Entrepreneurship‘, Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Pécs (2019), and the ‘Award of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences‘, Akadémiai Díj (2018).

As for his contribution to RSAI-ERSA Community, Attila Varga’s contribution is remarkable in many ways: he is Founding member and member of the board of the Hungarian Regional Science Association (2003 – present). He was also member of the European Regional Science Association Council (ERSAC) (2003 – 2019) and he was, last year, among the organizers of the 2022 ERSA Congress in Pé

Download Full Press release PDF

Award Ceremony
The award Ceremony will take place on Friday 1st September 2023 during the Closing Session of the 62nd ERSA Congress at Alicante #ERSAprize #ersa2023,

Share the ERSA Prize news with us!

#ersa2021 #ersaprize

Facebook  Twitter  Linkedin  Youtube


Archivos adjuntos